Take a step back in history at the edge of the Monongahela River in Rices Landing. One of the earliest overnight visitors was George Washington, when he and his troops camped here on their way to Pittsburgh. Rices Landing came into being in 1801 when Benjamin Franklin, mapping the area, combined two communities separated by Enoch Run (now named Pumpkin Run). Rices Landing has a rich history as a busy stop for river boats transporting coal and other goods and many of the historic buildings still exist in this peaceful community along the Mon.
Min Love Park, located along the Monongahela River, off of Main Street, provides a pleasant spot to view the river, with a gazebo, picnic tables, benches, a playground, barbecue grills, and public docks.
Kolat Park, on the opposite side of Pumpkin Run from Min Love Park, is a 5 acre area (near the Foundry) that contains a historic
jailhouse, community building, and restrooms.
Lock 6 Museum maintains a collection of photos and relics from historic Lock 6 (built in 1916) and Rices Landing. Open Monday and Wednesday, it is located on the second floor of the Borough Building at 137 Main Street, Rices Landing, PA 15357.
Pumpkin Run Park, open Memorial Day through Labor Day from 9:00 am to dusk, offers pavilions, fire pits, a boat ramp, and hiking and biking trails over 67 beautiful acres. There is also a Boy Scout cabin used for retreats.
Rices Landing Historic District was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1992. Many buildings from the community’s days as a river port still exist, including the Methodist Episcopal Church (1873), an 1850s brick jail, and several vernacular wood houses from the Mid-to Late-Victorian period. An early Hudson-Rambler garage, a general store, and an Art Deco bank are evidence of Rices Landing’s importance as a local commercial center. The Y.A. Young Machine Shop, the Excelsior Pottery, and company houses once owned by the H.C. Frick Coke Company are relics of the area’s industrial past.
W. A. Young Machine Shop and Foundry, located on Water Street, was built in 1900 by William A. Young. The Foundry, which still contains the original tools and machines dating from 1870, is a prime example of America’s industrial heritage and is operated by the Greene County Historical Society. Click here to learn more about tours and special events.
The Greene River Trail, a 5.2 mile walking and bike trail, begins at the trailhead at the Green Cove Yacht Club in Millsboro. It passes through Rices Landing and ends in Crucible, however there are plans to eventually extend it by nine miles to Nemacolin, PA.
The Lock Wall gives the public access to a great view of the Monongahela River. A cement boat ramp with plenty of parking, is available where Pumpkin Run and the Monongahela meet, off of Main Street, in Min Love Park.
Public boat docks are also located at Min Love Park, on the Monongahela River, and provide a relaxing spot for fishing.